When I Grow Up

shrug

One of the most asked questions of childhood is: what do you want to be when you grow up? As a kid in elementary school, this is easy. It’s mostly: “I want to be a teacher!” or “I want to be a popstar!” Then in middle school, it starts to become more of a money-making dream job and everyone starts saying, “I want to be a doctor!” or “I want to be a lawyer!” That was definitely me. But all of a sudden I get to high school, and I have no idea what I want to be. How is it so simple as a kid, but so difficult in the future?

It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.
–E.E. Cummings

When we’re young, we’re unaware of what really happens in the world. We’re sometimes even unaware of what we really like. As we get older, we become a lot more aware of our surroundings and the world around us. It’s not just a decision anymore. We have to take into consideration of financial situations as well as our own well-being. I mean, this is our future we’re talking about, right? Everyone says to do what you love. It’s not just that anymore. It’s more like: Do what you love as long as you can afford it. Well… That definitely limits the choices, doesn’t it?

nl8YdYWJenifer-Lawrence-I-dont-know-what-to-do-shaking-head-GIF

The first choice that most people think of is in the medical field. When they actually get into universities and begin their journey as a doctor, it’s way too difficult. Majority drop out. However, those that stay become successful. How do they endure such a stressful education? It’s most likely because they love what they’re doing. They love learning about the medical subject. Those that are just in it for the money aren’t passionate about it. So what other choices do they have?

School can become stressful. (Photo by anna gutermuth on Flickr.)

School can become stressful.
(Photo by anna gutermuth on Flickr.)

Difficult decisions are required in choosing a career. These are some helpful questions to ask yourself in figuring out career choices:

  • What do I like?

For me I like playing golf, reading, eating, watching movies, and taking care of animals, etc.

  • What jobs would fit those?

Golf-professional golf player, Reading-writing books/reviewing them, Eating-food critic, Watching movies-movie critic, Animals-veterinarian, etc.

  • Which job is the most realistic?
  • Will I be financially stable with this job?
  • Will I be happy?

Even though we’re grown up, we still remember our childish features and sometimes they have to emerge for us to be happier.

I think it’s okay to be anything we want to be as long as we’re happy with our lives. There are probably millionaires out there who are living unhappy lives. Sure, they’re financially secure, but do they have time for family or friends?

Some people get so caught up with work that they forget who they really are. This can’t happen. It’s important to be successful in life, but it’s also important to remember who you are.

So what do I want to be when I grow up?

Well, the most important thing to be is:

Myself

by Edgar Guest

I have to live with myself, and so,

I want to be fit for myself to know;

I want to be able as days go by,

Always to look myself straight in the eye;

I don’t want to stand with the setting sun

And hate myself for the things I’ve done.

I don’t want to keep on a closet shelf

A lot of secrets about myself,

And fool myself as I come and go

Into thinking that nobody else will know

The kind of man I really am;

I don’t want to dress myself up in sham.

I want to deserve all men’s respect;

But here in this struggle for fame and pelf,

I want to be able to like myself.

I don’t want to think as I come and go

That I’m for bluster and bluff and empty show.

I never can hide myself from me,

I see what others may never see,

I know what others may never know,

I never can fool myself — and so,

Whatever happens, I want to be

Self-respecting and conscience free.

~Tam(:

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment